Çocuksız bir ev hanımın itiraftalari (Confessions of a childless housewife)

I want to pretend that the past few days have been a serious exception to the norm that is my activity level.  Alas, if I’m really honest with myself it’s not that big of a change just because I haven’t been feeling well.  Sure, I haven’t been up for the usually long walks with the pup or random Starbucks/window shopping that I can be easily persuaded into doing (Olive is pretty persuasive.) because of my cold.  So while I’ve been drinking copious amounts of tea and going through an impressive number of kleenex (think in terms of boxes), if I’m being truly honest things aren’t that off the norm.

It’s been almost two years since I up and quit my full-time, serious, grown up job. I teach yoga classes a couple of times a week, but I’ve been doing that out of our home and so it doesn’t feel like a real job per se…  Which brings me to this abbreviated list of confessions.  These are the confessions of a stay at home non-mom.

1.  There are days when I don’t change out of pjs.  I’ll even shower and put them back on.  I don’t correct Mr. Awesome when he thinks I’ve just put them on after a full day in real clothes.

2. I have spent entire days in front of my computer watching hulu.

3.  Despite the fact that I love cooking, I have been known to spend hours on Pinterest or epicurious.com trying to find a fun recipe to try only to put a frozen pizza in the oven when it actually comes time to make dinner.

4.  On that note: I’ve ordered delivery for lunch.  More than once.

5.  While part of me misses having a full time “real people” job, I mostly miss wearing cute work clothes.  And heels.

6.  Sometimes I resent that I can’t work outside of very limited options due to being in Turkey as a diplomat’s wife.

7.  I try to schedule all my errands and outings for the day our housekeeper is coming so that I don’t look like a lazy housewife.

8.  Despite having all day to get in a work out, I often wait until the last minute before Mr. Awesome gets home.  It’s so I look like I’ve been productive.

9.  I sometimes lie to strangers and answer yes when asked if we have kids so I don’t have to explain what I do all day.  Plus, in Turkey it helps avoid a lecture.

10.  I do think about starting a family, but the thought of going that long without coffee and wine makes me rethink the whole idea.

There are plenty more where these came from, but these are the ones I’m willing to share (and fess up to) now…

What about you? Do you have any fun confessions about your job or lack thereof?

4 Comments

  1. I work like a grown up 4 months of the year and I’m pretty sure the world views me just like this. (Not that I’m disproving the fact they are right.) I work from home the balance of the year, and while I’m not 100% I’m pretty sure the world despises me. I work in my PJs, and sometimes I might shower right before I go to the gym just to get sweaty again. And Hulu, don’t even get me started – it has taken me hostage many-a-day.

    • I’m glad I’m not alone in my hulu journeys… Enjoy the new yoga swag!!! I read the post and am a bit jealous (but thankful that Mr. Awesome happily supports my terrible lulu addiction).

  2. So, I read this and have been trying to decide just how to comment. I found my answer tonight: when my husband read this he chuckled and said “she’s like you!” (this is Cindy, btw)

    • I take that as quite the compliment! Though I feel that since you’ve already raised a child, you’re a little less guilty than I… So glad you guys are still reading this! Give everyone hugs from me.

